Knitting

Scene: Friday late afternoon at knitting/yarn shop right down the street (“drop in Friday”) sitting in cozy chairs by a beautiful fireplace (no fire) surrounded by fellow crafters, including a group of young girls in the alcove by the large window looking right onto 3rd Avenue, and walls and walls of gloriously colored wool. 
Aba helped me pick out my wool and ‘needles’ and patiently showed me the moves.  Many oops later, as well as some expert fixing of a rather complicated boo boo by the store owner, I produced this!  Yes, this is the result of about an hour’s worth of intense, focused effort, but we could both see my fingers finally starting to get into the rhythm by the end (if only I could remember to drop a stitch each time…).  More practice to come, but I’m determined to make at least 1 scarf before deciding if this hobby is a ‘keeper’ for me!  In meantime, it’s fun and I spent a great couple hours with people who made me smile in an a pretty, peaceful environment.  
Admission: I kept thinking of the scene in Foul Play when she explains stabbing the intruder with the needles and the cop says, “Narcotics?” and she responds, “No! Knitting!” 
Admission part Deux: yes, that’s my watercolor in background; that was another initial effort of a different source, still in process…Image

Leave a Reply

