“Taxi!!”

There is a local taxi driver that decorates his cab in accordance with the holidays/seasons.  He has picked me up twice when I’ve called for a taxi; once at Christmas time, and being surrounded by ornaments and decorations and lights (and upbeat Christmas music, of course!) was the perfect was to start my vacation.  The second time was on Halloween last year, and when I saw it was him and his fabulous fun-house on wheels, I was so glad I had donned a pair of giraffe ears & antlers at the last minute.  Driving home from the store today, we passed each other along the road.  I could see his dashboard was covered with the pastel, plastic Easter eggs that my Mom used to hang on strings from the blooming dogwood tree outside our front door.  He passed by too quickly for me to register anything more, I don’t know if he was even looking to see the delight on my face and my goofy wave, but I felt so good right then and I hope he knows how much joy he brings to those of us lucky enough to travel with him.  I remember that he is so positive and happy about life that I felt uplifted when talking to him; he has that special gift.  Each time I rode with him, I exited his cab in such a state of joy and love of life that it was as if I was in a scene for one of the wonderfully corny Christmas movies on cable that I love so much.  Who knows, perhaps he is an angel and, for reasons I won’t ever understand, I was being graced with a gift from my Higher Power.  Or maybe he’s just a regular guy who gets a kick out of decorating and happened to be having a really good day each time I saw him.  Either way, the gift was in how I felt and still feel when remembering him, and I accept it with gratitude!  Image

2 thoughts on ““Taxi!!”

  1. Love it Nanc! I can picture him and the cab so clearly. Wouldn’t the world be a better place if everyone brought that much joy to their everyday lives, and tried to share it.

Leave a Reply

